Skip to content
Local Landscape
Check statusOther

Local Landscape rating6/10

Clarity 4 · Confidence 5 · Completeness 10

Business Industrial Competitiveness Scheme

The Business Industrial Competitiveness Scheme cuts electricity costs by up to £40 per megawatt hour for eligible manufacturing companies based in Tees Valley.

Run by Tees Valley Combined Authority

Checked against the official page (apply-for-bics.service.gov.uk) on 27 Oct 2026.

From 2027, BICS will reduce electricity costs by up to £40 per megawatt hour for eligible manufacturing businesses in the Industrial Strategy's growth sectors and foundational manufacturing industries that meet the relevant electricity intensity threshold. It also exempts eligible businesses from paying the indirect costs of the renewables obligation, capacity market and feed-in tariff.

Apply or find out more Official page

These details are gathered from public web pages and are not financial advice. Check them with Tees Valley Combined Authority before you apply.

Could your business apply? Check in a few seconds

Status and deadline

Status

Check status

We could not tell whether it is open

Deadline

Not stated

How much

Up to £40

Not confirmed on the official page

Who can apply

Eligible manufacturing companies in Great Britain with manufacturing sites and electricity supplies (MPANs) can apply to reduce their electricity costs. Other legal forms of business, including partnerships or bodies corporate, may also be eligible if registered with Companies House.

Confirmed on the official page

Business size

Not stated

Sectors

advanced manufacturing & engineering, chemical & process, creative & cultural industries, digital & tech, life sciences

Could your business apply?

Tell us about your business and an AI will compare it with this scheme's rules: what fits, what doesn't and what to check with Tees Valley Combined Authority. It takes a few seconds.

We send what you type, and this scheme's details, to an AI. We don't keep it unless you save it as your profile. More about this

How to apply

Use the 'Apply now' link on the page to start the application.

Not confirmed on the official page

Where it is open: Tees Valley

Tees Valley

Not confirmed on the official page

See everything open inTees Valley

HartlepoolMiddlesbroughRedcar and ClevelandStockton-on-TeesDarlingtonHaltonWarringtonBlackburn with DarwenBlackpoolKingston upon Hull, City ofEast Riding of YorkshireNorth East LincolnshireNorth LincolnshireYorkCounty DurhamCheshire EastCheshire West and ChesterNorthumberlandCumberlandWestmorland and FurnessNorth YorkshireBurnleyChorleyFyldeHyndburnLancasterPendlePrestonRibble ValleyRossendaleSouth RibbleWest LancashireWyreBoltonBuryManchesterOldhamRochdaleSalfordStockportTamesideTraffordWiganKnowsleyLiverpoolSt. HelensSeftonWirralDoncasterRotherhamNewcastle upon TyneNorth TynesideSouth TynesideSunderlandBradfordCalderdaleKirkleesLeedsWakefieldGatesheadBarnsleySheffield

Shaded: Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees, Darlington.

Drawn from the areas the funder names. If a scheme is only for part of a council area, check its own page. Boundaries from the Office for National Statistics.

Things we could not confirm

  • Start date given only as 2027; no opening or closing dates stated
  • No application route stated; page ends with 'Are you looking to find out more information?' with no link
  • Whether a business can apply itself or is only eligible through a qualifying tariff or threshold is not clear
  • Amount is a reduction in electricity costs per megawatt hour, not a grant or payment

Have you used this scheme?

Rate it to help other businesses decide whether it is worth their time. Once 3 businesses have rated it, their ratings move its Local Landscape rating up or down a little. We never show who gave a rating. How ratings work

You need a free business profile to rate it. Make your profile, or sign in if you have one.

Related open schemes in Tees Valley

Everything open in Tees Valley

More from Tees Valley Combined Authority

About Tees Valley Combined Authority

Source and last checked

Local Landscape gathers this information automatically from the pages below, then checks the key details against the official page. Checked against the official page (apply-for-bics.service.gov.uk) on 27 Oct 2026. Its details have not changed since it was listed on 27 Oct 2026. No person has checked it, so confirm the details with Tees Valley Combined Authority before you apply.

Run this scheme? Claim Tees Valley Combined Authority's page to keep it right.