Skip to content
Local Landscape
Open all yearInvestment

Local Landscape rating8/10

Clarity 6 · Confidence 9 · Completeness 10

UKSE equity investment

UKSE equity investment is funding of £35,000 to £1,000,000 for businesses in steel areas, including Tees Valley, County Durham, Cumberland, South Yorkshire, Hull and East Yorkshire, and North Lincolnshire, that plan to create jobs. Open, no fixed deadline.

Run by UK Steel Enterprise

Checked against the official page (ukse.co.uk) on 18 Oct 2026.

Equity investment from UKSE for businesses in steel areas: up to £1 million on a first round for a growing business, or up to £250,000 for a new one. UKSE takes only minority stakes and rarely asks for personal guarantees.

Apply or find out more Official page

These details are gathered from public web pages and are not financial advice. Check them with UK Steel Enterprise before you apply.

Could your business apply? Check in a few seconds

Status and deadline

Status

Open all year

Confirmed on the official page

Deadline

Open all year

Checked by a person

How much

£35,000 to £1,000,000

Checked by a person

Who can apply

Businesses in UKSE's steel areas that plan to create jobs and need between £35,000 and £1 million. UKSE does not fund high street retail businesses.

Checked by a person

Business size

Start-ups, Small (10 to 49 staff), Medium (50 to 249 staff), Large businesses

Not confirmed on the official page

Could your business apply?

Tell us about your business and an AI will compare it with this scheme's rules: what fits, what doesn't and what to check with UK Steel Enterprise. It takes a few seconds.

We send what you type, and this scheme's details, to an AI. We don't keep it unless you save it as your profile. More about this

How to apply

Start with UKSE's online eligibility checker (four questions, about a minute).

Checked by a person

Where it is open: the North

Tees Valley, County Durham, Cumberland, South Yorkshire, Hull and East Yorkshire, North Lincolnshire

Checked by a person

See everything open inTees ValleyCounty DurhamCumberlandSouth YorkshireHull and East YorkshireNorth Lincolnshire

HartlepoolMiddlesbroughRedcar and ClevelandStockton-on-TeesDarlingtonHaltonWarringtonBlackburn with DarwenBlackpoolKingston upon Hull, City ofEast Riding of YorkshireNorth East LincolnshireNorth LincolnshireYorkCounty DurhamCheshire EastCheshire West and ChesterNorthumberlandCumberlandWestmorland and FurnessNorth YorkshireBurnleyChorleyFyldeHyndburnLancasterPendlePrestonRibble ValleyRossendaleSouth RibbleWest LancashireWyreBoltonBuryManchesterOldhamRochdaleSalfordStockportTamesideTraffordWiganKnowsleyLiverpoolSt. HelensSeftonWirralDoncasterRotherhamNewcastle upon TyneNorth TynesideSouth TynesideSunderlandBradfordCalderdaleKirkleesLeedsWakefieldGatesheadBarnsleySheffield

Shaded: 14 council areas in Tees Valley and County Durham and Cumberland and South Yorkshire and Hull and East Yorkshire and North Lincolnshire.

Drawn from the areas the funder names. If a scheme is only for part of a council area, check its own page. Boundaries from the Office for National Statistics.

Things we could not confirm

  • Business size not stated
  • Closing date and whether applications are open not stated
  • Amounts not stated
  • Area given as specific towns in Tees Valley and a wider North East and Tees Valley description; area mapped to tees-valley only

Have you used this scheme?

Rate it to help other businesses decide whether it is worth their time. Once 3 businesses have rated it, their ratings move its Local Landscape rating up or down a little. We never show who gave a rating. How ratings work

You need a free business profile to rate it. Make your profile, or sign in if you have one.

Related open schemes

Everything open across the North

More from UK Steel Enterprise

About UK Steel Enterprise

Source and last checked

Local Landscape gathers this information automatically from the pages below, then checks the key details against the official page. Checked against the official page (ukse.co.uk) on 18 Oct 2026. Its details last changed on 17 Oct 2026. A person last checked it on 17 Oct 2026, so confirm the details with UK Steel Enterprise before you apply.

Run this scheme? Claim UK Steel Enterprise's page to keep it right.